Team Members

Peter Thomas

Co-Founder, President

Peter Thomas is responsible for the strategic direction at Novus as well as for Novus’ expansion to become the worldwide leader in providing TE devices and value added applications and products. He is also responsible for key customer relationships and products, engineering and manufacturing.

Peter has over 5 years of experience in sales and marketing leadership and over 25 years of experience dedicated to innovation and advancement of solid state device technologies. He also has 15 years of experience in thermoelectric (TE) systems modeling, design, fabrication, testing and integration.

He was a program manager on DoD, DARPA and commercial programs. Peter also worked at AT&T Bell Laboratories developing and manufacturing laser diodes for commercial applications for 10 years. In addition, he has 5 years of experience in strategic management, marketing, sales and finance at UBS.

Peter currently has 15 patents awarded/pending in the area of thermoelectrics and laser diodes and has co-authored more than 30 publications and presentations. He earned his BA in Chemistry from Binghamton University in New York and his MBA from the UCLA Anderson School.

Dr. Sam Parry

Program Manager

Dr. Parry has 40 years experience in military operations research and has conducted studies, developed models for the US Army in the areas of combat simulation, test and evaluation, analysis of alternatives and human factors engineering.

He was a senior fellow at ARTIS Research, Inc. where he developed five Cyber security courses. He also worked as an Operations Research Consultant at the Institute for Defense Analysis and as a Senior Consultant for the Research Triangle Institute (RTI) International. He’s also a Boeing Senior Operations Research Analyst. He currently teaches courses in Human Factors Engineering at Arizona State University.

Dr. Parry has been recognized for his work, winning the Military Applications Award of the Operations Research Society of America (1976) and the Commanders Award for Public Service to the U.S. Army (1991). He was inducted into the U.S. Army ORSA Hall of Fame November 14, 2007 and the Dr. Samuel H. Parry Modeling and Simulation Laboratory at the U. S. Army TRADOC Analysis Center, Monterey, CA was dedicated on March 23, 2000.

He earned his Ph.D. in Operations Research/Systems Engineering in 1971 at Ohio State University. He got his Master’s in Industrial Engineering in 1964 at Northwestern University and his Bachelor’s in 1963 at the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Nancy Jochens

Corporate Counsel

Nancy Jochens is an experienced attorney and has worked in a variety of businesses, including startups. She has worked for over 15 years as a practicing attorney in the areas of finance, contracts, and corporate law. She also has over 30 years’ experience in business and finance. She earned was a J.D. Graduate of the University of Missouri at Kansas City in 1997.

Dr. Rama Venkatasubramanian

Co-Founder, Chairman Technical Advisory Board

Dr. Venkatasubramanian is currently dedicated to the innovation and advancement of several solid state energy efficient materials and device technologies as well as transitioning them to the industry. He presently works at the Johns Hopkins University, Applied Physics Lab as Team Leader for Power, Energy and Thermal Management in the Research and Exploratory Development department.

Until April 2013, Dr. Venkatasubramanian was the Senior Research Director of the Center for Solid State Energetics at RTI International, where he directed innovative basic and applied research in thermoelectrics, photovoltaics, and optoelectronic materials and devices for solid state energy conversion applications.

He is also the Founder and was also the Chief Technology Officer of Nextreme Thermal Solutions, between 2004-2006, which is commercializing thin-film thermoelectric technology developed under his leadership with DARPA funding; Nextreme was recently acquired by Laird Technologies in February 2013.

Dr. Venkatasubramanian initiated and developed a research program focused on demonstrating the fundamental advantages of atomically engineered superlattices and other nanoscale materials at RTI; this research resulted in the first major breakthrough in the field of thermoelectrics in 40 years (Nature 2001, Nature Nanotechnology 2009), that led to hundreds of laboratories around the world working on other nanoscale thermoelectric materials. He also contributed to advances in multi-junction GaAs-based photovoltaics.

Dr. Venkatasubramanian currently serves as an Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, has organized several symposia and has edited proceedings in thermoelectrics, energy harvesting and nanoscale thermal transport for the American Physical Society, Materials Research Society, IEEE and other professional societies.

Because of his work, he has also earned much recognition and many rewards. Not only has he published over 115 peer-reviewed journal and conference publications, but he also has 15 issued patents and more than 100 presentations in the area of thermoelectric materials and devices, photovoltaics and optoelectronics. Dr. Venkatasubramanian also has 5 book chapters and edited proceedings published. He has won the R&D 100 Awards in 2002 and 2010 for thermoelectric innovations, the Margaret Knox Excellence Award for research at RTI in 2002, and the Rensselaer’s Allen B. Dumont Prize for research achievements. He was also elected Fellow of the IEEE (2011) for contributions to nanoscale thermoelectrics for thermal management of electronics and energy harvesting and is a fellow of AAAS (2012) for seminal contributions to nansocale materials and devices for advanced thermoelectric devices. In addition to these acheivements, he's also won the best paper award at the IEEE First World Conference on PV (1994) and his photovoltaics work recognized as key achievements by Department of Energy in 1995-97.

Dr. Venkatasubramanian earned his Ph.D. in Rensselaer, New York in 1988. He received his Electrical Engineering Bachelor's degree at the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras, India in 1983.